top of page

Design Philosophy


My childhood consisted of design, architecture, and art. My mother is an interior designer and my father a general contractor which spawned my love of all art forms. My parents took me throughout most of Europe to study art, architecture, and shop for antiques or materials to implement in their projects. Not to mention, I was basically born at ADAC.

My first love will always be art. I received my B.S. in Political Science and my B.A. in Art History from Georgia State University and planned on attending law school for art law. I soon learned this was not the career choice for me. After college, I gained the opportunity to work for a residential design firm, Diane Johnson Interiors, in Johns Creek where I learned a tremendous amount of information about design and working with clients. After a couple of years, my next adventure was managing an art gallery called dk Gallery which is my first love. This is where I began to blossom and love my passion for design. I have resided there now for four years and became Design and Corporate Art Director. I even helped curate shows and find artists for the gallery.

In the gallery, I am asked if I am an artist and I always respond yes but in a different way. An artist is someone that creates and I create. An artist is someone who is skilled at a particular task or occupation and I am that as well. Interior designers canvas is a space.

In life, I want to send the message that success is not something that you happen to stumble upon but rather success is hard work, sacrifice, perseverance, and failure. In design, I want to challenge people because when people are not challenged then what is the point. Just as in art, if a piece does not make you feel challenged or sometimes uncomfortable then get rid of it. I want my design to withstand time and change with evolution of life. This is where organic design becomes important to incorporate because it has always withstood time.

My philosophy includes a range of spatial relationships of rectilinear and curvilinear lines representing the organic. The transition of design is an endless cycle from dark to light from sharp too soft from achromatic to colorful from past to present. Today, technology is important for our day to day life so design needs to recognize this need.

My philosophy includes a range of spatial relationships of rectilinear and curvilinear lines representing the organicThe dancer's transition emulates the endless cycle of life/design from dark to light from sharp to soft from past to present. The two dresses are formed from 3D Printing by Iris Van Herpen and they show the prevalence of technology within design.

 

Image Citation

Kube, D. (n.d.). Kube. Retrieved April 03, 2017, from http://www.deankube.com/


FOLLOW ME

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon

STAY UPDATED

POPULAR POSTS

TAGS

No tags yet.
bottom of page